Sweet potato latkes

It’s one of those cosy winter morning where getting out of bed will be considered as cardinal sin. But I have to drag myself out as baby boo is already up and running around and my house looks like it’s been hit by a tornado. Sometime I wonder how is it physically possible for a one year old to create such a havoc, but then boo opens the closet and pulls out all the clothes within his reach and proudly manoeuvre towards his next target. I get my answer.

Few days back I was watching a movie where the protagonist had prepared authentic Hanukkah dinner, I couldn’t stop drooling over LATKES. Such simple preparation and great on taste buds. With little variation these are perfect for toddlers as well.

While I relish on these, here’s baby boo’s version of Latke.

INGREDIENTS

  • Sweet potato (peeled and shredded )
  • Carrot (peeled and shredded )
  • Green onion (chopped finely)
  • Ginger (grated)
  • Maize flour ( or any flour of choice for binding. Egg can also be used instead of flour)
  • Salt
  • Black pepper powder
  • Olive oil for cooking.

METHOD

  • Mix all the ingredients in a bowl to form a thick batter. Use water to adjust consistency.
  • Heat olive oil in a pan.
  • Scoop small portion of batter on to the fry pan. Using spatula press them into thin circles.
  • Cook on both side until golden brown.
  • Serve with dip of your choice.

P.S- There is no limitations to kind of vegetables to be used, whatever suits your baby’s palette add it. You can even add meat to it, but then use egg as binder instead of flour.

Happy Feeding!

Leave a comment